Places on the island of Krk

The island of Krk has, from an administration point of view, always been divided into the city of Krk area (during the municipality of the Roman period) and from the medieval period – as regards Croatian castles/small towns. Today, the island is divided into the city of Krk and six municipalities – Baška, Dobrinj, Malinska (historically known as Dubašnica), Omišalj, Punat and Vrbnik which, until the 19th century, were also capitulary parishes. These historical units vary according to their dialect, music, costumes and traditions.